Rejection: The Dreaded Howl of the Hakken-Kraks

Posted: September 11, 2013 in Writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Image

I got my first rejection two days ago.  Officially I received a silent rejection today.  I suppose this is my official commissioning ceremony as a writer.

I was expecting it.  I had anticipated this being the outcome yet nothing could have prepared me for the feeling as my stomach hit the floor and my hopes were dashed like a waves on a rocky cliff.  Ouch . . . shit that hurt.

Yesterday was a bad day.  Yesterday I was giving up this whole writing lark.  I did some research and discovered (by someone possibly better at sums than me), that I have a 0.1% chance of getting my manuscript published.  It probably wasn’t a good time to have found that article.  Let me put it another way.  Three weeks ago today I submitted a partial of my manuscript to HarperCollins.  My dream publisher had decided after goodness knows how long to accept unsolicited manuscripts.  I got my manuscript in with the first submission, along with 175 other hopefuls.  Apparently a mere two writers were asked to submit their complete manuscript.  You can read the article if you like.

http://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/books/pitching-novels-online-rewrites-the-rule-book-for-wannabe-authors-20130830-2sw67.html

I am not sure on the maths but it seems pretty pointless doesn’t it?  It seems beyond futile when I start calculating the amount of hours already invested in this project.  I have missed out on some serious television viewing people.

I’ve come to that place where I’m scared.  Scared to write, scared to submit, not sure what to do and feeling as though I’ve exhausted my wisdom.  Indecision.  Dr Seuss puts it rather aptly:

You will come to a place where the streets are not marked. 

Some windows are lighted, but mostly they’re darked.

A place you could sprain both your elbow and chin!

Do you dare to stay out? Do you dare to go in?

Dr Seuss “Oh the Places You’ll Go!”

I’m hoping that someone will open a door for me.  Surely I can’t stay as I am out in the cold forever?? Until that happens I will keep writing and ask that dreaded Hakken-Krak to talk to the hand.  I’m not listening anymore.

But on you will go

Though the weather be foul.

On you will go

Though your enemies prowl.

On you will go

Though the Hakken-Kraks howl.

Onward up many a frightening creek,

Though your arms may get sore

And your sneakers may leak.

Dr Seuss “Oh the Places You’ll Go!”

Leave a Reply

